Abeja Ocupada

Last night marked the completion of my first full week of working as a private English tutor. Clearly, I am pleased to be working again, being the little workaholic that I am, but I am also just glad to be making (and saving) some money while I am in Spain. Before I came to Madrid, I knew funds would be tight and I wouldn’t have much of an opportunity to do as much traveling as I had wanted to, since life expenses generally happen when you least want them. Thankfully, though, I’ve been able to take advantage of a couple of great opportunities to tutor locally. Every little bit helps!!

As expected, I really, really love my job. On Tuesdays, I have a playtime with a three-year-old boy named Diego for one hour; this a fun job but really takes a lot of energy since Diego is constantly on the move. I’m going to have to figure out some fun, attention grabbing activities for him in English so that he will get the most out of the sessions (though I was happy because when he and I were playing with his toys, he was repeating the names of some of the toys in English!). Time to revisit my Barney days, methinks! I also have an hour-long conversation class with a twelve-year-old girl named Marta. She is very sweet, intelligent, and has a strong grasp on the English language. She is happy to just sit and talk for an hour in order to keep up her language level, and our first session was spent discussing language barriers, among other things. Wednesdays are probably going to be my favorite, as I spend an hour working in one household, taking 30 minute turns working with a seven-year-old girl named Peloma and a nine-year-old boy named Antonio. They both have a fairly high level of English for their age, so we spent a lot of time playing vocabulary-building games while working on their confidence speaking. I’m really going to enjoy introducing different games to them, because let’s face it…I like having fun at work! My Thursday session is over the course of two hours, spending an hour each helping Roberto (twelve) and Jesús (six) with their homework as well as quizzing them on things that they need to know. A little on the dull side, but I think once I get an idea of what they need to work on, we can change up the routine so it doesn’t feel so repetitive.

I’m really looking forward to getting more involved in my tutoring sessions. I’ve been looking up a lot of ESL teaching material over the course of the week, and have found a few helpful tools to make my sessions run smoothly. I hope to pick up at leaaaast two more hour-long sessions sometime in the near future, if only so that I can have some spending money for my time abroad. Keeping my fingers crossed that something comes my way!! I’m also going to really have to start planning on finding somewhere to work for the summer. Though I have full intentions of applying to ACLE in Italy over the summer (a series of week-long English language immersion summer camps), I need to find at least two more places to apply to so I can actually save a little money over the summer before returning home to Humboldt. Please send positive thoughts my way!!

– xo –

2 thoughts on “Abeja Ocupada

What are your thoughts?

